Jayalalithaa announces creation of nine new taluks

Besides announcing creation of nine new taluks, Chief Minister Jayalalithaa on Tuesday told the Assembly that all revenue taluks with a population of four lakh and above would be bifurcated to ensure effective administration.

Making a suo motu statement in the House, she said a committee comprising Commissioner of Revenue Administration, Commissioner of Land Administration and Commissioner of Land Reforms would be constituted to make recommendation to the government on bifurcation of taluks, taking into consideration the population, area and revenue villages.

She said the committee would make its recommendation in two months and the government would take an appropriate decision.

Explaining the rationale behind her government's decision to bifurcate the taluks, the Chief Minister said the 2011 census had indicated that the population in 62 revenue taluks had substantially increased and there was a need to create new taluk offices to avoid delay in attending to the day-to-day work of the people. She said the revenue department was the backbone of the administration and played a vital role in every aspect of people's life, distributing birth and death certificates and offering a helping hand during natural calamities. Ms. Jayalalithaa said the government had already decided to bifurcate Manamadurai taluk in Sivaganga district to create a new taluk with Tirupuvanam as it headquarters. Similarly, Polur taluk in Tiruvannamalai district will be split to pave the way for a new taluk at Kalasapakkam.

Kunnam in Perambalur district will be bifurcated to create a new taluk at Alathur and Pollachi taluk in Coimbatore district will pave the way for creation of a new taluk at Kinathukadavu.

Ms. Jayalalithaa said a new taluk at Tiruporur would be carved out of Chengalpet taluk in Kancheepuram district while Coimbatore (North) would be bifurcated to create a new taluk at Annur.

Likewise, a new taluk would come up at Chinnasalem by restructuring the Kallakurichi and Sankarapuram taluks in Villpuram district. Another taluk would be created at Anthiyur by restructuring Bhavani and Gobichettipalayam taluks in Erode district. In Namakkal district a new taluk with Kollimalai at its headquarters would be created out of Namakkal and Rasipuram taluks.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National