A total of 54 nominations were received when filing of nominations for the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections began on Saturday. Prominent among them are Finance Minister K Anbazhagan, the DMK candidate for Villivakkam constituency.

With the publication of the notification for the Assembly elections on Saturday, the nomination process began. Eight nominations, the highest number, were received in Coimbatore.

Three nominations were filed in Saidapet and Salem (North) constituencies, according to an official press release.