The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, which has put up an impressive performance in the local bodies' elections despite fighting them almost singlehandedly, has done exceedingly well in the northern districts.

Apart from securing a thumping majority in the Chennai Corporation Council which has been the stronghold of its principal adversary Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, the AIADMK has bagged the post of chairpersons in five out of eight municipalities in Kancheepuram district; all five municipalities in Cuddalore; three out of four municipalities in Tiruvannamalai; three out of five in Tiruvallur; eight out of 11 in Vellore and all the three municipalities in Villupuram.

Similarly, for the post of chairpersons in town panchayats, the party has won nine out of 18 in Kancheepuram; 14 out of 16 in Cuddalore; nine out of 16 in Vellore; six out of 15 in Villupuram; three out of 10 in Tiruvannamalai and three out of 10 in Tiruvallur. As for the DMK, its nominees have won the post of chairpersons of eight municipalities, of which three were in Vellore; two each in Kancheepuram and Tiruvallur and one in Tiruvannamalai. In respect of town panchayats' chairpersons, the DMK has bagged eight in Kancheepuram; five each in Tiruvannamalai, Tiruvallur and Vellore and three in Villupuram. The Pattali Makkal Katchi drew a blank for the post of chairpersons in municipalities and town panchayats.


Saidai Duraisamy is Chennai MayorOctober 22, 2011