Deadline lapsed on Monday

As many as 223 candidates, who contested the Assembly elections, have failed to submit election expenditure accounts to poll authorities.

The deadline for submission of the returns lapsed on Monday. There were 2,748 candidates in the fray.

A senior official of the State Elections Department says most of the defaulters are likely to be “non-serious independent candidates.”

A report from Krishnagiri states that nominees of the Bharatiya Janata Party and Bahujan Samaj Party are among those who have not submitted the accounts.

It is only in four districts out of 32 that all candidates have filed the accounts.

The four districts are Dharmapuri, Perambalur, Pudukottai and Kanyakumari.


Expenditure observers, numbering 58, are scrutinising the accounts. By Monday (June 20), the summary of accounts of those who had won and those who had finished second and third in the elections will be published on the Department's website.

As regards cases of violation of poll-related rules, the police had filed charge sheets in respect of 6,570 cases.

Only in respect of 248 cases, the charge sheets are yet to be filed.

The official says that the authorities have taken into account only serious cases such as bribery, violence and the conduct of public meetings.

The official says the Department has asked the field officials to act on complaints given at the time of polling regarding the deletion or omission of names in the electoral rolls.

Those who would like to enrol their names in the electoral roll can do so by submitting application forms to officials concerned.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National