Tamil Nadu

16 ministers lose


As many as 16 Tamil Nadu Ministers, many of them DMK stalwarts, were defeated in the Assembly election. Higher Education Minister K Ponmudy (Villupuram), Agriculture Minister Veerapandi S Arumugam (Sankagiri), Health Minister MRK Panneerselvam (Kurinjipadi), Transport Minister K N Nehru, Rural Industries and Animal Husbandry Minister Pongalur N Palanisamy (Coimbatore South) fell by the wayside in the anti-DMK landslide. Mr. Ponmudy lost to a former AIADMK Minister, C Ve Shanmugam.

Others who bit the dust were Tourism and Registration Minister N Suresh Rajan (Kanniyakumari), Backward Classes Minister K K S S R Ramachandran (Aruppukkottai), Labour Minister T M Anbarasan (Pallavaram), Commercial Taxes Minister S N M Ubayadullah (Thanjavur), Forests Minister N Selvaraj (Manachanallur), Highways Minister Vellakoil Saminathan (Madathukulam), Social Welfare Minister Geetha Jeevan (Thoothukudi), Adidravidar Welfare Minister R Tamilarasi (Manamadurai), Fisheries Minister K P P Sami (Thiruvottiyur) and U Mathivanan (Kilvelur). Information Technology Minister Poongothai Aladi Aruna had a narrow defeat in Alangulam by a margin of 299 votes.

Chief Minister M Karunanidhi, who was elected from Tiruvarur for his 12th term in the Assembly, led the group of victorious Ministers.

The list included Law Minister Durai Murugan (Katpadi), Revenue and Housing Minister I Periasamy (Athoor), Food Minister E V Velu (Tiruvannamalai), School Education Minister Thangam Thennarasu (Tiruchuli), Sports and Youth Welfare Minister T P M Mohideen Khan (Palayamkottai), Slum Clearance Board Minister Suba Thangavelan (Tiruvadanai) and Khadi Minister K Ramachandran (Coonoor). Mr. Periasamy defeated his nearest rival by a margin of over 53,000 votes.

Close battle

Deputy Chief Minister M. K. Stalin was locked in a close battle with Saidai S Duraisamy (AIADMK) at Kolathur, in which fortunes swung like a pendulum in favour of one candidate to another, until the DMK leader pipped Mr. Duraisamy by 2,423 votes. Finance Minister K Anbazhagan, also the DMK general secretary and a nine-time Member of the Legislative Assembly, was trailing JCD Prabhakaran of the AIADMK at Villivakkam constituency in Chennai.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 26, 2017 7:13:44 PM | http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/16-ministers-lose/article2016630.ece