N. Srinivasan was re-elected president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for one more year at the Board’s annual general meeting (AGM) held here on Sunday. His was the only nomination filed for the post.

Mr. Srinivasan, however, will take charge only after the Supreme Court hears the case against him and the BCCI, filed by the Cricket Association of Bihar. The case comes up for hearing on Monday.

Mr. Srinivasan had completed his two-year term as BCCI chief.

Significantly, no one was chosen to discharge his duties till the apex court permits Mr. Srinivasan to assume control. Sanjay Patel, who has been elected secretary, is expected to be given the signing authority.

In an important announcement, Orissa Cricket Association president Ranjib Biswal was named chairman of the IPL Governing Council. Mr. Biswal is a former first class cricketer.

The meeting was chaired by Mr. Srinivasan. Rajeev Shukla, one of the new vice-presidents, said this was not in contempt of the Supreme Court ruling. “The AGM was chaired by Mr. Srinivasan. The AGM [according to the BCCI rules] has to take place under the new president. This is not contempt of court. Mr. Srinivasan has told members that he will not discharge his duties till the apex court clears him.” The court had permitted Mr. Srinivasan to contest the election.

On a day that saw loyalists being rewarded, Shivlal Yadav (South Zone) and Chitrak Mitra (East Zone) continued in their posts as vice-presidents, while Mr. Rajeev Shukla (Central Zone), S.P. Bansal (North Zone) and Ravi Sawant (West Zone) were elected vice-presidents.

Anurag Thakur (Himachal Pradesh) is the new joint secretary while Anirudh Choudhury (Haryana) was named treasurer.

Mr. Rajeev Shukla comes in for another politician Arun Jaitley, as chairman of the Tours and Fixtures committee. The Board also formed a new anti-corruption and security panel, to be headed by Amitabh Choudhary, a former top-ranking police officer from Jharkhand. T.C. Mathew (Kerala) will head the National Cricket Academy Board.