News » National

Updated: March 19, 2012 16:12 IST

SP to vote against govt. on NCTC issue

Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and SP leader Akhilesh Yadav. File photo
AP Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and SP leader Akhilesh Yadav. File photo

Samajwadi Party today said it will vote against the government in Parliament on the issue of setting up the National Counter Terrorism Centre (NCTC).

“We can’t support it. We will vote against it,” Samajwadi Party leader Ramgopal Yadav told reporters outside Parliament.

Chief Ministers of several states including West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Odisha, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, and BJP-ruled states have written to the Prime Minister against the NCTC.

These states have opposed the NCTC, saying that the proposed body impinges on the powers of state governments. A meeting of chief ministers is also scheduled on April 16 on the NCTC issue.

Asked if the SP would support the UPA government in case the Trinamool Congress withdraws support to it, Mr. Yadav said, “There is no question... This is a hypothetical question. Who comes and who goes is immaterial to me. We are not going to join.”

On reports suggesting that he would be given the post of Deputy Chairman in the Rajya Sabha if his party joins the government, Mr. Yadav said, “This is a figment of imagination. There is no truth in it and I will not accept it”.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

In the 16th Lok Sabha Election 2014, West Bengal has witnessed some interesting trends. Apart from the debacle of the Left and the ascendance of the Trinamool Congress (AITC), the other somewhat s... »


Tamil Nadu

Andhra Pradesh





Recent Article in National

Prime Minister Narendra Modi being received by Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda on his arrival in Kaithal on Tuesday. Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki is also seen. Photo: PTI

Will not attend any PM function, says Hooda

Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, lashed out at the BJP, accusing the party of converting an official function of the prime m... »