All India N.R. Congress legislator V. Sabapathy was on Wednesday elected unopposed as the Speaker of the Puducherry Assembly.

The 67-year-old Sabapathy, elected from Ariyankuppam in the April 13 polls, has become the 18th Speaker of the Assembly.

He joined AINRC after quitting Congress a few weeks ahead of the polls.

As soon as the House met on Wednesday, pro-tem Speaker T. Thiagarajan announced that Sabapathy alias Kothandaraman was elected unopposed as the Speaker.

The announcement followed a boycott of the session by Opposition Congress, AIADMK and DMK legislators.

In the 30-member Assembly with one vacancy, the AINRC has a strength of 14 while the Congress has seven members, AIADMK five and DMK two. One independent is supporting the ruling party.