The Election Commission on Wednesday ordered re-election in 67 polling stations that come under nine Assembly constituencies in Manipur, following complaints of irregularities, including proxy voting.

Election in the State was held on January 28.

The order was issued based on observers' reports.

Re-poll will be held between 7 a.m. and 3 p.m. on March 4 in Chandel, Tengnoupal, Chingai, Saikul, Karong, Mao, Tadubi, Tamei and Singhat (all ST seats).

Except the ruling Congress, all the Opposition parties in Manipur, including the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Nationalist Congress Party the Communist Party of India, the CPI-Marxist, the Janata Dal-United, the Manipur State Congress Party, the Manipur People's Party, the National People's Party and the Manipur unit of the Trinamool Congress called for re-poll, alleging irregularities. The party representatives met top Commission officials on Monday.

Earlier, the Commission had a meeting with top officials of the Home Ministry on the re-poll issue and directed the State Chief Electoral Officer to ensure a level playing field for all the candidates and provide a peaceful atmosphere for the re-election.

Surprisingly, re-election has been ordered nearly a month after voting on January 28 that recorded about 80 per cent.

According to complaints lodged by the Opposition, there were instances where a single woman had voted for more than 80 times.