President Pranab Mukherjee will lead the delegation that will represent India at the memorial service for former South African President and anti-apartheid crusader Nelson Mandela on Monday night.

The delegation will include UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha, Sushma Swaraj, Union Minister Anand Sharma, CPI(M) leader Sitaram Yechury and Bahujan Samaj Party leader Satish Mishra.

The memorial service at Johannesburg will be attended by world leaders. The state burial for Mandela will be at his boyhood home of Qunu on December 15.

According to a South African government website, memorial services will be held at several venues to give everyone the opportunity to attend, but the official memorial service will take place on Tuesday, at the FNB stadium in Johannesburg.

“The President of the Republic of South Africa Jacob Zuma will address the official memorial service. The programme will also include tributes by Heads of State from various regions of the globe, the continent, and representatives of international and regional organisations. Eminent persons will also address the gathering,” the website states.

Mandela was decorated with the Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian award.

More In: National | News