The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for the smooth conduct of polling in 68 Assembly constituencies spread over 13 districts of Uttar Pradesh in the sixth phase on Tuesday.

In this penultimate phase of election, people living in Delhi's neighbourhood places such as Ghaziabad, Indirapuram, Sahibabad and Noida will be among the 2.14 crore people who are eligible to exercise their franchise. They include 95.19 lakh women voters in this “Jat land.”

As many as 1,103 candidates are in the fray with the ruling BSP, the main Opposition Samajwadi Party and the Bharatiya Janata Party fielding 68 candidates each.

The Congress is contesting in 35 seats and the Rashtriya Lok Dal in 32 constituencies. There are a total of 86 women candidates in the fray.

The EC has set up 22,137 polling stations and the polling personnel have already reached there under heavy security cover.

Polling will take place in Saharanpur, Prabuddha Nagar, Meerut, Baghpath, Ghaziabad, Panchsheel Nagar, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Muzaffarnagar, Mathura, Mahamayanagar and Agra districts. Besides Jats, Jatavs and Muslims are in commanding position in these districts.

While 30 candidates are competing to capture the Aligarh seat, the Khair constituency has the lowest of nine contestants.