Barring trouble-prone interior parts of the city, authorities on Tuesday announced a four-hour relaxation in curfew in parts of the city.

“There will be a four-hour relaxation in South, East and West zones of Srinagar city from 3 pm to 7 pm,” a police spokesman told PTI.

Curfew was imposed in Srinagar on September 12 and was extended to the entire Kashmir Valley next day following widespread violence.

This is the second time that authorities announced relaxation in curfew during the past 10 days. The curfew was relaxed in a phased manner in Srinagar city on Saturday.

Meanwhile, an uneasy calm prevailed in Srinagar and other major towns of Kashmir Valley. “Situation at this hour continues to remain normal and under control. There are no reports of any untoward incident from any part of the Valley,” a police spokesman said.

He said the 300-km Srinagar-Jammu and the 100-km Srinagar-Uri National Highways were safe for vehicular traffic.

Besides Srinagar, the curfew remained in force in Budgam district town along with Warpora, Mirgund, Nadirgund, Choon, Humhama, Wattdara, Gagoo, Ompora, Narkara, Shiekhpora, Galwanpora, Chadoora, Panzan, Nagam, Machawa, Kralpora, Wathora, Dawlatpora, Hassipora, Alamdar Colony and Charar-i-Sharief, Ganderbal district town and nearby Kangan.

Anantnag district town along with Mattan and Bijbehara, Kulgam district town and Qoimoh, Pulwama district town, Tral, Awantipora, Lethpora, Pampore and Kakapora, Shopian district town, Baramulla district town and Delina, Kunzer, Tangmarg, Pattan, Singhpora, Sopore, Ladoora and Rafiabad, Kupwara district town, Kralpora, Trehgam, Handwara, Chotipora and Kulangam, Bandipora district town and Sumbal in Bandipora district were also under curfew, he said.

More In: National | News