The Bihar assembly on Monday witnessed uproarious scenes after Speaker Udai Narain Choudhary rejected a motion brought by the opposition MLAs seeking adjournment of the house for a debate on price rise and other issues.

As soon as the Speaker said the motion brought by senior opposition MLAs — Ramdeo Verma (CPI-M), Rajendra Singh (CPI), Arun Kumar (CPI-ML), Shakeel Ahmed Khan (RJD), Maheshwar Singh (LJP) and Abdul Bari Siddiqui (RJD)— was unacceptable, the agitated members trooped into the well and started shouting slogans against the state government.

Peace returned in the house after Mr. Choudhary asked the opposition MLAs to return to their seats and announced that the House would hold a two-hour debate on the “price rise and poverty” on Tuesday.

On the privilage notice of Achyutanand (LJP) against the officials of the Patna district administration in connection with Thursday’s lathicharge on the LJP activities, the Speaker said he would take an appropriate decision and inform the house later.