Two persons, who were detained under the National Security Act (NSA), have been released following an order from the Union Ministry of Home Affairs.

Logu Ayappan and Sakthivel, who were involved in the alleged attempt to traffic Sri Lankan Tamil refugees to Australia and subsequently detained under the NSA, were released on Wednesday night.

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs on December 12 informed the territorial administration of its decision to revoke the detention order under Section (14) of the National Security Act. The decision to revoke the order followed a representation made by the families of the detainees to the Ministry. In its communication to the government, the Ministry said, “the detenus may be released forthwith from the jail unless they are required to be kept in jail for any other case.”

The communication did not mention the reason for revoking the detention of the two persons under the NSA.