Two sitting Independent members of the Lok Sabha from Bihar Putul Kumari and Om Prakash Yadav joined the BJP on Monday ahead of the General Elections.

Ms. Kumari who became a Member of Parliament from Banka constituency in November, 2010 after her husband and sitting MP Digvijay Singh passed on joined the BJP in the presence of party president Rajnath Singh.

Another first time MP -- Om Prakash Yadav who represents Siwan in the Lok Sabha -- also joined the BJP.

Post its split from alliance partner JD(U) in Bihar, the BJP has been working to strengthen its cadres in the state.

Welcoming the two MPs into the party fold Mr. Singh said people are unhappy with the Congress and want a change of government.

"Congress has also accepted the fact that it will lose the Lok Sabha elections. As I said at our party conclave, Congress will indulge in all kinds of activities in its bid to prevent BJP from coming to power."