Tripura’s main opposition Congress expelled three of its rebel leaders after they formally joined Trinamool Congress on Sunday.

Earlier in the day former PCC president Surajit Dutta, former Ministers Ratan Chakraborty and Jawar Saha and party’s OBC department Chairman Prafulla Debnath announced decision to join the Trinamool at its headquarters in Kolkata.

The disgruntled leaders who were against elevation of Sudip Roy Burman first as PCC President and then as leader of Opposition in State Assembly have been camping in Kolkata for past one week to discuss new arrangement with senior Trinamool leaders including the former Railway Minister Mukul Roy.

They said they were changing camp to work under the leadership of Mamata Banerjee.