West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Saturday asserted that Trinamool Congress’ 34-seat tally in the State was a massive triumph and said her party will play a big role in the 16th Lok Sabha in the interest of the people.

“We would play a big role in the interest of the people,” Ms. Banerjee told reporters at the party headquarter here, dedicating the massive win in the State to the people.

The TMC chief said “34 out of 42 is a clear-cut mandate”, specially fighting on our own.

“It is the people who opposed the maligning campaign against us and gave their verdict,” the Chief Minister said.

Indicating that it was a tough battle over the gruelling five-phase polls in the State, she said “it was a five-six cornered fight, there were several parties”.

Ms. Banerjee said despite a large section of media opposed the party, “people kept their faith in Trinamool Congress”.

Claiming that a section of the media had underplayed ‘Bengal’s triumph’, Ms. Banerjee said that all party MPs would go to Delhi on May 25 to take oath in the Lok Sabha.

Stating that out of 34 members, 33 per cent were women while the national figure was 11 per cent out of the 543, Ms. Banerjee said “In that way it is historic. Many talk about women’s reservation in the Lok Sabha, but do not do much.”

Sudip Bandopadhyay to be party leader in Lok Sabha

Trinamool Congress leader Sudip Bandopadhyay would be the party’s leader in the Lok Sabha, while Rajya Sabha member Mukul Roy would be the chairman of TMC Parliamentary party in both the Houses, party supremo Ms. Banerjee announced on Saturday.

Mr. Bandopadhyay, who was elected for the fourth term from the prestigious Kolkata North seat, was chosen at a meeting of the 34 newly-elected members at the party headquarter here.

Two-time member Ratna De Nag and first time MP Sugato Bose would be the deputy leaders in the Lower House for the TMC.

Another two-time MP Kalyan Banerjee was selected as the chief whip of the TMC.

Mr. Mukul Roy, the party’s all India secretary general, would be the chairman of TMC Parliamentary Party/Group in the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.