The Election Commission on Wednesday announced by-elections from Tehri Garhwal in Uttarakhand and Jangipur in West Bengal. The polls will be held on October 10 and counting of votes will be on October 13.

The notification will be issued on September 15 and the last date for filing nomination is September 22. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is September 26.

The by-poll from Tehri Garhwal is necessitated due to the resignation of Uttarakhand Chief Minister Vijay Baghuguna, who represented it in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, following his appointment as Chief Minister.

The Jangipur seat was vacated by President Pranab Mukherjee following his elevation to Rashtrapati Bhavan.