JMM MP Kameshwar Baitha joins TMC

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha on Tuesday announced that the party chief would contest from Dumka where he is the sitting MP.

The party’s second sitting MP, Kameshwar Baitha who represents Palamu, is the fourth political leader from the State to join the Trinamool Congress (TMC) which appointed its State convenor only in February.

JMM has so far announced names of candidates for three of four Lok Sabha seats in its quota.

Dumri MLA Jagannath Mahto will contest from Giridih, a move seen as a way to woo Mahto vote. Former youth Congress president Vijay Hansda will contest from Rajmahal. JMM is yet to announce a candidate from Jamshedpur, after the party’s popular leader Sudhir Mahto’s widow Sabita Mahto turned down the offer to contest from there.

Mr. Baitha's switching parties did not come as a surprise as Palamu seat fell under Congress’ quota this time as per the JMM-Congress coalition arrangement of contesting four and nine of the State’s 14 Lok Sabha seats, with one seat given to Rashtriya Janata Dal.

He had already approached BJP last week but did not get a positive response.