Upholding its position as ruling party in Kalyan-Dombivli Municipal Corporation (KDMC), Shiv Sena’s Vaijayanti Gholap was today elected as the Mayor unopposed.

BJP’s Budharam Sarnobat was declared as the Deputy Mayor of KDMC. Raj Thackeray-led MNS and NCP abstained the mayoral elections paving way for Sena to form the civic government.

Other candidates Manisha Walanj and Mayur Patil, who had fielded their nominations for Mayor’s and Deputy Mayor’s post respectively, withdrew at the last moment.

In the 107-member House, Shiv Sena bagged 31 seats, BJP 9, NCP 14, Congress 15, MNS 28 and others 10.