Shiv Sena on Wednesday announced renomination of its MP Sanjay Raut for Rajya Sabha and senior leader Diwakar Raote and Anil Parab for Maharashtra Legislative Council.

“Sena Executive President Uddhav Thackeray has nominated Mr. Raut’s name for Rajya Sabha and Mr. Raote and Mr. Parab for the Council seats,” a party spokesperson said here.

The biennial elections for six Rajya Sabha seats are scheduled on June 17, as terms of MPs including Raut, Sharad Joshi supported by the Sena-BJP alliance, Vijay Darda (Congress), Tariq Anwar (NCP) and Rahul Bajaj (supported by NCP) will end on June 7. Another Congress MP Shivraj Patil has become Punjab Governor.

The Council elections for 10 seats are scheduled on June 10. The ruling Congress-NCP combine has 144 MLAs in the 288-member Assembly and enjoys the support of a majority of 24 independents. The Sena has 45 and BJP 46 MLAs in the House.

While 42 first preference votes are required by a candidate for a straight win in the Rajya Sabha poll, 27 votes will see an aspirant through in the Council poll.

The date for filing nominations is May 31.