Counting of votes for 90 constituencies of Chhattisgarh will begin at 8 a.m. in 27 centres across the State on Sunday. Each round will count EVMs of 14 booths. Approximately, 1,375 tables are arranged for each constituency with equal number of counting supervisors. In addition, there will be assistant supervisors and observers. Security has been tightened across the State. A three-tier security has been provided at counting centres. Additional forces have been deployed in partially Maoist-controlled areas of south Chhattisgarh. Closed-circuit television cameras have been installed in counting centres.

Postal ballots will be counted first, Chief Electoral Officer Sunil Kujur told The Hindu. The first trend is expected by 9 a.m. and by 2 p.m., most of the results will be out.

Leaders of both the Congress and the BJP, who were in charge of Chhattisgarh poll, have reached the State. Chief Minister Raman Singh will be in Raipur. BJP State president Ramsebak Painkra will keep track of results from his hometown in Surajpur. All candidates will be in their constituencies, a BJP spokesperson said.

The Congress also has made arrangements to post its national leaders as observers. Ajit Jogi, who will play a crucial role if the Congress wins, senior leader Motilal Vora, AICC general secretary B.K. Hariprasad, State Congress president Charandas Mahant and Kalahandi MP Bhakta Charan Das will all be present in Chhattisgarh. While top Congress leaders are confident of the party victory, senior State leaders have been anonymously issuing statements against one another over the last few days. ‘Such infighting in a closely-fought battle is a worry for all of us,’ said a Congress candidate.