The Election Commission on Thursday announced a poll schedule to fill up two Rajya Sabha seats from Assam, including the one held by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. The election, to be participated by the MLAs of Assam, is scheduled on May 30.

The poll is announced as the term of Dr. Singh (Congress) and Kumar Deepak Das (Asom Gana Parishad) are ending on June 14. If re-elected, it will be for the fifth time, the PM would hold the RS membership. The term of a RS member is for six years.

The poll notification will be issued on May 13 and May 20 is the last date for filing nominations. On May 21 the papers will be scrutinised and May 23 is the last date for withdrawal of the candidature, if any. The poll will be held between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. on May 30 and counting of votes taken up the same day at 5 p.m.