The Rajya Sabha on Monday approved the proclamation of the President’s Rule in Jharkhand, where Arjun Munda resigned as Chief Minister after his government lost majority last month.

On January 18, Jharkhand was brought under the President’s Rule for the third time since its formation 12 years ago, after the JMM withdrew support to the BJP-led government. The House approved the proclamation with a voice vote after a debate.

Replying to the debate, Union Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde denied allegations that the Centre had made any attempt to destabilise the State government.

He said the gap between the last two occasions when the President’s Rule was imposed in the State was around three months, and if the BJP wanted, it could again stake a claim to form a government.

Governor Syed Ahmed tried for three days to resolve the crisis before recommending the imposition of the President’s Rule.