The Congress on Sunday released a list of 118 candidates to contest the Assam Assembly elections. It includes Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, who is seeking a third successive term in office.

The party, which intends contesting all 126 seats, is likely to release the names for the other eight seats soon. The list was finalised at a meeting chaired by party president Sonia Gandhi. Only one sitting MLA has been dropped on grounds of performance.

A problem arises for the Congress arises from its UPA ally at the Centre. For, the Trinamool Congress is also contesting all 126 seats in the State.