As goodwill gesture, Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah on Sunday ordered the release of five separatist leaders, including Hurriyat leader Naeem Khan and Dukhtaran-e-Millat (DeM) chief Asiya Andrabi. An official spokesperson said the decision to revoke the Public Safety Act (PSA), in the case of Mr. Khan and Ms. Andrabi, was done on the instructions of Mr. Abdullah.

On the Chief Minister’s orders, other leaders Nayeem Ahmed Dar, Tariq Ahmed Dar and Mudssar Ali Rather were also released. The Chief Minister had given strict instructions to police officials that all five be released only on the eve of Eid so that they are able to celebrate the festival with their family.