The opposition Congress party moved a no confidence motion against the Shivraj Singh Chouhan government in the Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha on Monday.

It is after a gap of 13 years that a no confidence motion has been moved in the State Legislative Assembly and the first time against the current BJP government which is in its second consecutive term in the State.

Leader of the Opposition and Congress MLA Ajay Singh on Monday submitted the motion to Assembly Speaker Ishwardas Rohani, who admitted it and scheduled a discussion on November 28 and 29.

The ruling BJP has 146 MLAs is the 231-member Assembly while the Congress, with 66 legislators, is the largest opposition party followed by the Bahujan Samaj Party (7), Bharatiya Jan Shakti Party (5) and the Samajwadi Party (3).

The Leader of the Opposition also demanded a probe into the reported suicide of ABVP activist Vimal Tomar, who was an accused in the sensational murder of Prof. H.S. Sabharwal of Ujjain.

Mr. Tomar, who was later acquitted of the murder charges by a Nagpur court, had reportedly committed suicide on Saturday by consuming a poisonous substance.

State Congress president Kantilal Bhuria also termed Mr. Tomar's death mysterious and demanded a judicial inquiry into the matter.