Odisha Chief Minister and Biju Janata Dal president Naveen Patnaik on Friday suspended Rajya Sabha member and dissident leader Pyarimohan Mohapatra and two legislators from his party, and also sacked two Ministers for raising the banner of revolt against him.

The Chief Minister made this announcement before the media at the Secretariat after holding discussions with Ministers, legislators and Members of Parliament of his party at his residence during the day.

Mr. Patnaik said he had forwarded a letter to Governor Murlidhar Chandrakant Bhandare requesting him to dismiss Women and Child Development Minister Anjali Behera and Commerce and Transport Minister Sanjeeb Kumar Sahoo.

The two legislators suspended were Prabhat Biswal and Bibhuti Balabantray, the Chief Minister said.

Mr. Patnaik also met several legislators who went to Mr. Mohapatra's residence on May 29 evening to revolt against his leadership, when Mr. Patnaik was away on a trip to London.

Several legislators reportedly told Mr. Patnaik that they had been asked to put their signatures on a paper to choose Mr. Mohapatra as the new leader of the BJD Legislature Party.

The dissidents' attempt to replace Mr. Patnaik failed as Mr. Mohapatra was unable to organise the support of adequate number of legislators at the last minute. At least three Ministers and 30 legislators had attended the meeting at Mr. Mohapatra's residence.

As soon as the news about the revolt against Mr. Patnaik's leadership spread on Tuesday, many of his Ministers and legislators gathered at Mr. Patnaik's residence to express their support for the Chief Minister. As many as 94 legislators put their signatures in support of Mr. Patnaik before he returned to the State on Thursday evening.