Pradesh Congress Committee president Nabam Tuki was sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh on Tuesday, bringing the curtains down on the months-long leadership crisis in the border State. This follows his unanimous election as the Congress Legislature Party in the morning.

Governor Gen (retd) J.J. Singh administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mr. Tuki as the seventh Chief Minister at the Raj Bhavan in Itanagar. Jarbom Gamlin, who resigned both as CLP leader and Chief Minister on Monday, was the first among the Congress leaders to greet the new Chief Minister and warmly shake hands with him. Mr. Tuki was Public Works Department Minister in the Gamlin Ministry.

Union Power Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, who was present along with the other two AICC observers, told journalists that all differences among the legislators over the leadership issue were buried with the unanimous election of Mr. Tuki. He said all those legislators who had expressed reservations about the change of guard were present at the ceremony in a show of party unity. The other two observers present were the former Union Minister, Bijoy Krishna Handique, and the AICC in-charge of Arunachal Pradesh, Dhaniram Shandil.

On Monday, Congress legislators authorised party president Sonia Gandhi to nominate a new CLP leader after the resignation of Mr. Gamlin.