National » Other States

Updated: February 17, 2011 11:19 IST

Munda wins Kharsawan by over 17,000 votes

print   ·   T  T  
Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda. File photo
Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda. File photo

Jharkhand Chief Minister and BJP candidate Arjun Munda on Thursday won the Kharsawan Assembly bypoll defeating his nearest Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantric) opponent Dasrath Gagrai by over 17,000 votes.

The bypoll was necessitated as Mr. Munda has to enter the State Assembly within the mandatory six months period after becoming the chief minister on September 11 last year.

BJP sitting MLA Mangal Singh Soy had resigned two months ago to pave way for Mr. Munda.

Mr. Munda defeated Mr. Gagrai by over 17,000 votes, Returning Officer C.K. Singh said.

Besides Mr. Gagrai, five others, including Bahadur Oraon of CPI (ML) and four independents, were also in the fray. The polling took place on February 10.

Mr. Munda, a third time chief minister since 2003, will have to vacate his Jamshedpur Lok Sabha constituency, which he had won in the 2009 general elections on a BJP ticket.





Recent Article in Other States

No entry for Togadia in Kandhamal

: The administration imposed restrictions on the entry of Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) leader Pravin Togadia into Kandhamal district of Od... »