Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda on Tuesday took oath as MLA in the State assembly, a fortnight after winning the Kharsawan assembly by-poll.

He was administered the oath of office by Speaker C P Singh at 11:10 am on the second day of the budget session.

The Chief Minister, who was greeted by the house on becoming a member, had earlier taken oath as the head of BJP/JMM/AJSU coalition on September 11 last year.

Mr. Munda, who had to become a member of the house within six months from September 11, later quit as member from Jamshedpur lok sabha consituency and filed nomination from Kharswan assembly seat.

He won from Kharswan by over 17,000 votes supported by the JMM and the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) trouncing Krishna Gagrai of the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P).