The Ministry of Rural Development has sanctioned new road projects for Madhya Pradesh’s eight Left Wing Extremism (LWE) affected districts recognized by the centre under the Integrated Action Plan (IAP).

According to Union Minister of Rural Development Jairam Ramesh, the eight districts-Anuppur, Balaghat, Dindori, Mandla, Seoni, Shahdol, Sidhi and Umaria-will get new roads under the Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana (PMGSY).

“All habitations with a population of 250 and above (as per 2001 Census) in these districts are eligible for coverage under PMGSY,” Mr. Ramesh said in a letter to MP Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan.

A total of 458 road works measuring 1665 Km have been sanctioned at an estimated cost of Rs. 532 crore.