Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati on Wednesday filed her nomination papers for the biennial election for the State Legislative Council, scheduled to be held on June 10.

The BSP supremo is currently a member of the Legislative Council and her term would expire on July 6.

Ms. Mayawati, who reached the Tandon Hall of Vidhan Bhawan along with senior Cabinet Ministers Naseemuddin Siddiqui and Satish Chandra Mishra, filed her nomination papers before the returning officer.

Besides, Ms. Mayawati other candidates of the BSP also filed their nomination.

Other candidates include Rishipal Gautam, Satish Chandra Jatav, Ram Kumar Kureel, Subodh Kumar Parashar, Mohammad Athar Khan, Vinod Chauhan and Lal Chand Nishad