Tripura Governor D.Y. Patil on Monday invited leader of the Left Front Legislature Party Manik Sarkar to form the next government in Tripura. The swearing-in ceremony of the Council of Ministers will take place at 3 p.m. on Wednesday, Governor House officials said.

Earlier in the day, the 49 newly-elected CPI(M) legislators and lone CPI MLA elected Mr. Sarkar as their leader. Convenor of the State Left Front Committee Khagen Das and CPI(M) State secretary met Dr. Patil to convey the decision of the front MLAs.

The Governor invited Mr. Sarkar to lead the next government when the latter visited Raj Bhavan in the afternoon. Mr. Sarkar also submitted a list of MLAs to be inducted in the Ministry.

CPI(M) party sources said nine Ministers will take oath along with Mr. Sarkar. All Ministers of the seventh Left Front government would be of Cabinet rank, they added.

Two members of the last Ministry are likely to be dropped.

Bijay Laxmi Sinha, wife of the slain Health Minister, Bimal Sinha, is expected get a ministerial berth.