Bharatiya Janata Party candidates have won uncontested as many as 82 seats in the nagarpalika (municipal corporation) and mahanagarpalika polls in Gujarat, with no opponents in the fray on the last day of nominations on Wednesday. The party is continuing its winning spree after getting 115 seats in the Assembly polls.

State BJP spokesperson and former Minister I.K. Jadeja said the party won all 21 seats in Surendranagar district’s Halvad nagarpalika, which was earlier controlled by the Congress and, in a record, 12 out of 21 seats in Patan district’s Chanasma nagarpalika.

Two contestants in the Junagadh municipal corporation won, while nine BJP candidates romped home in the Kutiyana nagarpalika of Porbander district. Similarly, nine out of 27 seats saw BJP candidates winning without a contest in the Jafrabad nagarpalika in Amreli district.

The party won one seat each in the local self-government by-elections in Navsari, Kutch and Anand districts.