Goa Legislative Assembly on Monday decided to hold year-long celebrations to mark 50 years of its inception.

Assembly Speaker Rajendra Arlekar announced the decision to hold the celebrations as the month-long session began in Panaji.

The celebrations began with lightening of the traditional lamp by Mr. Arlekar, Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, Deputy Chief Minister Francis D’Souza, leader of opposition Pratapsingh Rane and Deputy Speaker Anant Shet.

The entire House was decorated with flowers when the session was called on Monday to present the State budget.

The first Goa Legislative Assembly was convened on January 9, 1964, three years after the state was liberated from the Portuguese rule.

Following the end of Portuguese rule in 1961, Goa was placed under military administration headed by Lt. Gen. Candeth.

But on June 8, 1962, military rule was replaced by civilian government when the Lt. Governor formed an informal Consultative Council of 29 nominated members to assist him in the administration of the territory.

When Goa became a State of India from its status of Union Territory in 1987, the number of seats in the Assembly was increased to 40.