The fourth phase of panchayat elections today began in five blocks of the Kashmir Valley and six blocks of Jammu division in the State, officials said.

In central Kashmir, votes were being cast in Wakura block of Ganderbal district and in Beerwah block of Budgam district.

The voting to elect the grass root level representatives is also underway in north Kashmir, in Ramhal block in Kupwara district and in Rohama block in Baramulla district.

Voting was also underway in Devsar block in Kulgam district of south Kashmir.

The six blocks in Jammu division where the panchayat elections are underway include Pouni block in Reasi district, Gourdi block in Udhampur district and Lohai Malhar, Bani and Duggan blocks in Kathua district and Marh block in Jammu district.

The first leg of the 16-phase polls was held in eight blocks of the State on April 13.

The elections for the fifth phase will be held on April 30, sixth phase on May 4, seventh phase on May 8, eighth phase on May 12, ninth phase on May 16, tenth phase on May 21.

Last six phases will be held on May 25, May 29, June 2, June 6, June 11 and June 16.

Panchayat elections being held in the State after a gap of ten years.