Two former legislators – R.K. Rana and Dhruv Bhagat -- were on Monday sentenced to five years imprisonment by a special CBI court in Ranchi in the fodder scam case.

Two former officials -- Om Prakash Diwakar and Ajit Kumar Sinha -- of Animal Husbandry department were also sentenced to six years imprisonment in the same case.

Six other treasury department officials and one fodder supplier were also sentenced to jail terms by the special CBI court in this case.

The court of special CBI judge Sitaram Prasad had convicted them on May 31. It imposed a fine of Rs. 2 lakh each on Mr. Rana, Mr. Bhagat, Mr. Diwakar and Mr. Sinha and on default they should undergo a further three months imprisonment.

Mr. Bhagat was a BJP MLA and the then chairman of Public Accounts Committee of undivided Bihar during RJD regime and Mr. Rana was an MLA of RJD and went on to become an RJD MP from Bihar.

The two ex-officials are former Regional Director (Animal Husbandry Department) Om Prakash Diwakar and ex-Mobile Veterinary officer Ajit Kumar Sinha.

The treasury department officials who were sentenced include Rakesh Kumar Sinha (former treasury officer), B.B. Prasad (former accountant) and Rajesh Kumar Sinha (fodder supplier). They were also sentenced to five years imprisonment.

Other officials Balkrishna Dubey (former treasury accountant), Bhanu K Dubey (former treasury-assistant) and Naresh Prasad Sinha (fodder supplier) were given four years jail terms.