The Jammu and Kashmir government today notified the first phase of the 16-phased panchayat elections to be held on April 13.

While making the notification, Election Authority of Panchayat Raj B R Sharma said that eight blocks including Bishnah, Samba, Kangan, Budgam, Quimouh, Kupawara and Udhampur will vote in the first phase.

Mr. Sharma said the second phase of polling will be held on April 17, third phase April 21, fourth phase April 25, fifth phase April 30, sixth phase May 4, seventh phase May 8, eighth phase May 12, ninth phase May 16, 10th phase May 21, 11th phase May 25, 12th phase May 29, 13th phase June 2, 14th phase June 6, 15th phase June 11 and 16th phase on June 18.

Mr. Sharma said that 50,68,975 voters will exercise their right to franchise in 143 blocks to elect 4,130 sarpanchas and 29,719 panchas in over 33,000 polling stations.

The last date for nominations is March 25 while they will be scrutinised on March 26. The last date for withdrawal of candidature will be March 28 and votes will be counted on April 4.

In Kulgam, Quimoh, Udhampur, Samba, Jammu, Bishnah, the last date for filing of nominations is March 25, scrutiny on March 26, last date for withdrawal of candidature on March 28 and counting on April 13.