Fifteen per cent polling was recorded in the first three hours of polling for the 60-member Arunachal Assembly on Tuesday.

Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu and two other Congress candidates have already been elected unopposed from the three seats in Tawang district.

In the state capital, long queues were seen before all polling booths.

Brisk polling was reported from insurgency prone Tirap district declared disturbed under the Armed Forces Special Powers Act. Around 600 central paramilitary forces were deployed in Tirap.

The polling was peaceful so far.

An electorate of 7.25 lakh are eligible to cast their votes for 151 candidates, including 57 of the ruling Congress, 36 of the NCP, 26 of the Trinamool Congress, and 18 of the BJP.

There are also 11 candidates of the Peoples Party of Arunachal, a regional party and 3 independents.

Nine women candidates, including two of the Congress were also trying their luck.