The eighth phase of panchayat elections is being held today in four blocks of the Kashmir Valley and three blocks of Jammu division, officials said.

In central Kashmir, votes were being cast in B K Pora block of Budgam district.

Voting is also underway in Shahabad block in Anantnag district of south Kashmir, in Trehgam block of Kupwara district and Rafiabad block of Baramulla district in north Kashmir.

The three blocks in Jammu division where the panchayat elections are underway include Akhnoor block in Jammu district, Barnoti block in Kathua district and in Sunderbani block in Rajouri district.

By 9 AM, 14 per cent votes were cast, an official at the Chief Electoral Office said.

The first leg of the 16-phase polls was held in eight blocks of Jammu and Kashmir on April 13.

The elections for the ninth phase will be held on May 16 and tenth phase will be held on May 21.

Last six phases will be held on May 25, May 29, June 2, June 6, June 11 and June 16.

Panchayat elections are being held in the State after a gap of ten years.