The Election Commission on Thursday allotted broadcast and telecast time to political parties for carrying out their election campaigns on Doordarshan and All India Radio for coming assembly elections in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh.

The Commission has decided to extend the equitable time sharing scheme on the electronic media through Prasar Bharati Corporation and the use of broadcast and telecast time will be available only to national parties and recognised state parties in the polls.

This facility will be available from Regional Kendras of All India Radio and Doordarshan and in the headquarters of Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh and relayed by other stations within those States.

The EC has said a base time of 45 minutes will be given to each national party and recognized state party uniformly on the Regional Kendra of Doordarshan network and All India Radio network in the two States.