The formation of two more Assembly constituencies in the district post-delimitation has made competition stiff in the October 13 Maharashtra Assembly polls.

Post-delimitation, the district has now Nashik (east), Nashik (central), Nashik (west) and Devlali Assembly constituencies.

Earlier, the district had two constituencies Nashik city and Devlali.

Congress candidate and Maharashtra Minister of State for Public Health, Shobha Bachhav who is seeking second term from Nashik (central) is pitted against Sunil Bagul (Sena), and MNS corporator Vasant Gite. The assembly segment has total 2,86,802 electorate including 1,37,101 women.

In 2004 she had defeated BJP nominee D S Aher.

Nashik (east) is likely to witness a quadrangular fight as Congress candidate Rajaram Pangavhane, BJP’s Balasaheb Sanap, MNS’ Uttamrao Dhikle have put in their hat in the fray.

Former NCP MP Devidas Pingle is also contesting in the seat as Independent after he was denied party ticket.

There are a total of 15 candidates in the fray from Nashik (east) constituency which has a total electorate of 2,86,621, including 1,35,528 women.

In Nashik (west), NCP nominee Nana Mahale will face Congress leader and former mayor Dashrat Patil, contesting as independent after being denied party ticket, besides BJP’s Rahul Aher and MNS’ Nitin Bhosale.