A day ahead of the two-day scheduled visit of Union Home Minister P. Chidambaram to the violence-affected districts of Kokrajhar, Dhubri and Chirang, the Assam government on Sunday shunted out Deputy Commissioners of Police of Kokrajhar and Chirang districts and Sub-Divisional Officers of the Gossaigaon subdivision in Kokrajhar district and of Bilasipara sub-division in Dhubri district.

The State government has also placed officers in charge of three police stations of Kokrajhar, Gossaigaon and Bhowraguri under suspension for inaction and dereliction of duty.

Kokrajhar Deputy Commissioner of Police Donald Gilfelon has been replaced by Jayant Narlikar and Chirang Deputy Commissioner of Police U.N. Bora by Puru Gupta.