The CPI(ML) today released the list of 48 candidates for the first three phases of Bihar assembly polls beginning from October 21 next.

While sitting MLA Amarnath Yadav has been renominated from Raghunathpur assembly seat, another sitting MLA Munnas Alam has been replaced by his brother and ex-MLA Mehboob Alam from Balrampur assembly constituency, CPI(ML) state committee secretary Nand Kishor Prasad told reporters.

Another former MLA Satya Dev Ram has been given ticket from Darauli (SC) assembly seat, he said.

The CPI(ML) will have friendly fight with the CPI(M) in five assembly constituencies and with the CPI in another seven assembly constituencies, Mr. Prasad said.

Hoping for an improved electoral performance, the CPI(ML) secretary said that his party has sought to woo the young voters by selecting 40 youths among the total 48 candidates in the age group of 25 to 45 years.

The CPI(ML) has given assembly tickets to six Muslims, four women, two STs and 13 SCs, Mr. Prasad said.

The list of remaining 59 CPI(ML) candidates for the Bihar assembly polls will be announced later on, he said.

The CPI(ML) will highlight the NDA government’s failure to carry out land reforms and set up industries in the state for livelihood and employment of the poor people, Mr. Prasad said and flayed the NDA government for generating hype about the development in the State during its term.

The CPI(ML) leader also attacked the Chief Minister Nitish Kumar-led government for patronizing corruption.


Bihar Phase-II poll notifiedSeptember 29, 2010