By-elections to 20 assembly seats spread over seven States including seven each in Bihar and Gujarat will be held tomorrow in the second major test for political parties after the recent Lok Sabha polls.

Honours were even for the parties in the first round of by-elections for 17 seats held last month after the general elections.

Most of the 20 assembly seats fell vacant after the MLAs there got elected to the Lok Sabha. Counting of votes will be taken up on September 14.

Besides the seven seats each in Bihar and Gujarat, elections will be held for two seats in Madhya Pradesh and one each in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Uttarakhand and Delhi (Dwaraka).

Non-Congress governments are in power in the poll-bound states except in Delhi and Andhra Pradesh.

The polls will be held in Bochaha (SC), Aurai, Kalyanpur, Warisnagar (SC), Ramgarh, Chainpur and Chenari (SC) (all in Bihar) and Chotila, Jasdan, Dhoraji, Kodinar, Dehgam, Sami and Danta (all in Gujarat) seats.

The Congress is contesting the elections on its own from all the seven seats in Bihar. All the constituencies in the State are witnessing a multi-cornered fight. Some of the Bihar seats are in naxal-hit areas.

Assembly constituencies of Gohad and Tendukheda (in Madhya Pradesh), Tekkali (Andhra Pradesh), Namchi Singithong (Sikkim), Vikasnagar (Uttarakhand) and Dwarka (Delhi) also go to polls tomorrow.

Polling will be through Electronic Voting Machines(EVMs).

Campaigning for Gujarat by-polls remained a low key affair with Chief Minister Narendra Modi staying away from the campaign.


CEC to review poll preparedness in Vidarbha September 9, 2009