By-elections to South Salmara and Dhekiajuli assembly constituencies in Assam will be held on November seven.

Chief Election Officer Hemanta Narzary said on Friday that the last date for filing of papers was October 21 and the date of scrutiny was October 21. The last date for withdrawal was October 24.

The entire election process would be completed by November 16 and voting would be held from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m on November 7.

The seats fell vacant after All India United Democratic Front (AIDUF) chief Badruddin Ajmal, representing South Salmara assembly constituency, was elected to Lok Sabha from Dhubri and AGP’s Joseph Toppo, representing Dhekiajuli, was elected from Sonitpur parliamentary constituency.

Mr. Ajmal had resigned from the assembly on May 26 while Mr. Toppo quit on May 29 last.