The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), is fielding a Congress rebel in Dharavi, also the namesake of senior Congress MP Eknath Gaikwad, under whose parliamentary constituency Dharavi falls.

Thus, Vishnu Gaikwad, a Congress corporator, would contest from Dharavi on a BSP ticket. Suresh Mane, the BSP’s national general secretary announced at a press conference here on Wednesday.

‘Social alliance’

Speaking of the BSPs strategy, Dr. Mane said the BSP believed in “social alliance” rather than “political alliance.” He said the candidates would be from all communities.

Dr. Manesaid till now the party had been accused of contesting to fell other candidates. “This time we are contesting to win,” he said.

In an oblique reference to the newly created Republican Left Democratic Front (RLDF), he said, “You get to see what happens when only leaders come together.” The BSP had alleged that the RLDF has been backed by the Shiv Sena- Bharatiya Janata Party and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar. On the other hand, the Democratic Front alliance currently ruling the State has the support of the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena.

Dr. Mane said Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati would be in Mumbai in the first week of October for campaigning.