Barring some stray cases, no untoward incident was reported in the first phase of elections to the 243-member Bihar Assembly on Thursday. Forty-seven constituencies, spread over eight districts, went for polling.

There was no incident of booth capturing and people boycotted the election in 10 booths, protesting against lack of development and local issues, Deputy Election Commissioner Vinod Zutshi, told journalists here.

Case against candidate

The police registered a case against a Janata Dal (United) candidate and his supporters on the charge of manhandling and beating a poll official at Chhathapur in Supaul district.

A case was registered at Bayasi in Purnia district against Socialist Janata Party candidate Alumiddin Ansari for trying to enter a booth. Later he was arrested.

Sources in the Election Commission said Katihar and Kishengunj districts recorded the highest polling percentage of 57.5, followed by Purnia 55, Araria 52 per cent and Madhepura 51.


In Madhepura district, some BPL (below poverty line) cardholders and local people threw stones at two booths. The authorities later allowed them to vote. Five security personnel were injured when a tractor trolley overturned at Phulparas in Madhubani district.

Barring Simri Bakhtiarpur and Mahishi, where polling was held between 7 a.m. and 3 p.m., in all the other segments, the poll hours was fixed at 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Of the 38 districts in the State, this phase covered Madhubani, Supaul, Araria, Kishengunj, Purnia, Katihar, Madhepura and Saharsa districts.

The remaining phases will be held on October 24 and 28, and November 1, 9 and 20.