The first phase of the Autonomous District Council (ADC) elections will be held in three district councils in Manipur on Wednesday.

Of the 140 seats in the six councils, as many as 70 candidates will be formally declared elected uncontested. This is because several candidates withdrew their candidatures under pressure from the United Naga Council (UNC), which is objecting to the ADC elections.

The All-Naga Students' Association Manipur has been imposing an indefinite economic blockade against Manipur from April 6, saying that these elections should not be held.

As a result of the threat perception from the UNC, no candidates filed nomination papers in six constituencies in the Senapati ADC, which has 24 members. The government allowed all candidates to file nomination papers in the office of the Collector in Imphal West district, for their own security. As a result, there are candidates in all the remaining five ADCs.

On Wednesday, the ADCs in Churachandpur, Chandel and Sadar Hills will go to the polls. Official sources said adequate security had been made to ensure the elections were not disrupted. Nine candidates out of 24 in Churachandpur district will be declared elected uncontested. They all belong to the Congress. Fifty-three candidates for the remaining 15 seats will fight it out.

In the Chandel ADC, 12 out of 24 members will be declared elected uncontested. Eleven candidates are from the Congress, while one is from the Nationalist Congress Party. Forty candidates will vie for 12 seats. Eleven of 24 members in the Sadar Hills ADC will be declared elected uncontested. All of them are from the Congress. There are 41 candidates for the remaining 13 seats.

For the second phase of elections to be held in June, four members will be formally declared elected uncontested out of 24 seats in the Tamenglong ADC. They too belong to the Congress. There are 63 candidates for the remaining 20 seats. Of the 24 seats in the Ukhrul ADC, the Congress will bag 20 seats since these candidates will be declared elected uncontested. There are 28 candidates for the remaining four seats.

In the Senapati ADC, 12 Congress candidates will be declared elected uncontested. There are no candidates for six seats. There are 26 candidates for the remaining six seats.